Program Stational Park Service

"Preserving Heritage in the Community"



WHO WE ARE

Local governments strengthen their local historic preservation efforts by achieving Certified Local Government (CLG) status from the National Park Service (NPS). NPS and State governments, through their State Historic Preservation Offices (SHPOs, aka the Kentucky Heritage Council in our state), provide valuable technical assistance and small matching grants to hundreds of diverse communities whose local governments are endeavoring to keep for future generations what is significant from their community's past. In turn, NPS and SHPOs gain the benefit of local government partnerships to assist in achieving national and state historic preservation goals and objectives. Another incentive for participating in the CLG program is the pool of matching grant funds SHPOs set aside to fund CLG historic preservation projects--at least 10% of the State's annual federal Historic Preservation Fund (HPF) grant allocation.

PROGRAM PARTNERS

Jointly administered by NPS in partnership with SHPOs, the CLG Program is a model and cost-effective local, state, and federal partnership that promotes historic preservation at the local level across the nation. Working closely with such national organizations as the National Alliance of Preservation Commissions, the CLG program seeks: 1) to develop and maintain local historic preservation programs that will influence the zoning and permitting decisions critical to preserving historic properties, and 2) to ensure the broadest possible participation of local governments in the national historic preservation program while maintaining preservation standards established by the Secretary of the Interior. There are currently over 2,000 CLGs nationwide.

KENTUCKY CERTIFIED LOCAL GOVERNMENTS

There are currently 23 CLGs in Kentucky:

City of Anchorage	Lex'gton-Fayette Urban Co. Gov't.
City of Bardstown	City of LaGrange
City of Bellevue	Louisville Metro Government
Boone County	City of Maysville
City of Bowling Green	City of Middlesboro
City of Campbellsville	City of Middletown
City of Covington	City of Newport
City of Danville	City of Owensboro
City of Dawson Springs	City of Paducah
City of Frankfort	City of Pikeville
City of Hopkinsville	City of Shelbyville
City of Horse Cave	